Our Presidents

Since our inception in 1907, our Presidents have always been crucial in moving the Society forwards, providing guidance and safeguarding our best interests as an organisation and those of our members. 

Below are listed all the Presidents of RSTMH to the current day, as well as a gallery containing portraits of some of our earlier Presidents.

RSTMH Presidents

Past RSTMH Presidents

2019–present Professor David Mabey 

2018–2019 Professor Sarah Rowland-Jones

2016–2018 Dr Simon Cathcart

2013–2016 Professor Simon I. Hay

2011–2013 Professor Peter Winstanley

2009–2011 Professor Hazel M. Dockrell

2007–2009 Professor David H. Molyneux

2005–2007 Professor Sir Brian M. Greenwood

2003–2005 Professor Andrew Tomkins

2001–2003 Professor Harold Townson

1999–2001 Professor David Bradley

1997–1999 Professor David A. Warrell

1995–1997 Major-General George O. Cowan

1993–1995 Professor Gordon C. Cook

1991–1993 Dr Peter O. Williams

1989–1991 Professor George S. Nelson

1987–1989 Professor Wallace Peters

1985–1987 Professor Herbert M. Gilles

1983–1985 Sir Ian A. McGregor

1981–1983 Dr Antony J. Duggan

1979–1981 Dr Leonard G. Goodwin

1977–1979 Dr Stanley G. Browne

1975–1977 Dr C.E. Gordon Smith

1973–1975 Professor Alan W. Woodruff

1971–1973 Sir Robert Drew

1969–1971 Professor Brian Maegraith

1967–1969 Professor Percy Cyril Garnham

1965–1967 Professor George MacDonald

1963–1965 Dr Charles Wilcocks

1961–1963 Sir George McRobert

1959–1961 Sir William MacArthur

1957–1959 Sir John S.K. Boyd

1955–1957 Professor Rupert M. Gordon

1953–1955 Dr F. Norman White

1951–1953 Sir Neil Hamilton Fairley

1949–1951 Professor Henry Edward Shortt

1947–1949 Sir Philip H. Manson-Bahr

1945–1947 Dr Charles Morley Wenyon

1943–1945 Sir Henry Harold Scott

1939–1943 Sir S. Rickard Christophers

1937–1939 Dr Sydney Price James

1935–1937 Sir Arthur Bagshawe

1933–1935 Sir Leonard Rogers

1929–1933 Sir George Carmichael Low

1927–1929 Professor John William Watson Stephens

1925–1927 Sir Andrew Balfour

1923–1925 Sir Percy W. Bassett-Smith

1921–1923 Sir James Cantlie

1919–1921 Sir John Ritchie Simpson

1917–1919 Sir David Bruce

1915–1917 Dr Fleming M. Sandwith

1913–1915 Sir R. Havelock Charles

1911–1913 Sir William Boog Leishman

1909–1911 Sir Ronald Ross

1907–1909 Sir Patrick Manson