You are here: Home » George Macdonald Medal

George Macdonald Medal

Image of George Macdonald Medal Front

Dr George Macdonald, Professor of Tropical Hygiene at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and Director of the Ross Institute, died on 10 December 1967.

A dominant figure in the field of tropical public health and one of the world's great authorities of malariology, George Macdonald distinguished himself by his work on quantitative analysis of the transmission and eradication of vector-borne tropical diseases. His personality combined great intellectual power, fearless integrity, tremendous energy and an understanding of human problems.

In October 1968, the Dean of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, launched an appeal for an endowment of a permanent memorial to Professor Macdonald in the form of a medal to be awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to tropical hygiene. Many of Professor Macdonald's friends and colleagues all over the world responded generously to this appeal.

The medal bears on its obverse a likeness of Professor Macdonald with the inscription "Professor George Macdonald 1903-67" and on the reverse the words "For services to tropical hygiene".

The regulations for the award of the Macdonald medal were agreed by the Board of Management of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and the Council of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene) as follows:

The Medal will be awarded every three years in recognition of outstanding research leading to improvement of health in tropical countries.

LSHTM Council and the RSTMH Council will propose the names of the candidates.

A committee composed of the Dean of LSHTM, two members of LSHTM Council and two members of RSTMH Council (who are not employees of LSHTM) will nominate from these proposals a candidate for the award.

LSHTM Council and RSTMH Council will then be required to ratify this nomination.

The presentation of the medal will be made by the Director of LSHTM at a suitable RSTMH meeting.

It will next be awarded in 2014.

Previous recipients


login icon