You are here: Home » Awards

RSTMH medals

The Board of Trustees of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene awards a number of medals in recognition of excellence in tropical medicine and global health every year:

Chalmers Medal

Awarded annually to researchers aged 46 and under.

Sir Rickard Christophers Medal

Awarded triennially for work in tropical medicine and hygiene in its broadest sense and in particular for practical and field applications; it will next be awarded in 2015.

George Macdonald Medal

Awarded triennially in recognition of outstanding research leading to improvement of health in tropical countries; it will next be awarded in 2017.

Donald Mackay Medal

An annual award for outstanding work in tropical health, especially relating to improvements in the health of rural or urban workers in the tropics.

Sir Patrick Manson Medal

The Society's highest mark of distinction and awarded to the living person whose contribution to any branch of tropical medicine or hygiene is considered by the Board of Trustees to merit the honour most; it will next be awarded in 2016.


login icon