Emerging Leaders Award

Latest Emerging Leader Award

This years Emerging Leaders Award winner is Mr Emmanuel Nene Odjidja, whose aims are to research and evaluate global health programs in low- and middle-income countries. Having worked in Ghana, South Sudan and now Burundi, he is interested in researching novel approaches from a health systems perspective to reduce transmission of infectious diseases among pregnant women and improve child survival. Through working and providing mentorship to local staff, he aims to improve quality of global health research and evaluations, especially in humanitarian and fragile settings in sub-Sahara Africa.  

As the Research, Monitoring and Evaluation Technical lead for a grassroots organisation, Village Health Works in Burundi, he has set up a routine training program (Kigutu M&E Institute) which has so far trained 32 clinicians and program staff on topics relating to epidemiology, evaluation techniques and health systems strengthening. 

“It is such a privilege and honour to receive the Emerging Leaders Award. Thank you to my colleague Honorine for endorsing my nomination and to the committee for the selection. I would like to dedicate this award to colleagues and management of Village Health Works and to field assistants I worked with in South Sudan for their distinct commitment to saving lives” 

Eligibility and nominations

This award is established specifically for the benefit of early-career investigators from and based in low- and middle-income countries. For the purpose of this award, we define “early career” as a maximum of 10 years’ active employment post-training, discounting career breaks.

Only RSTMH members are eligible to nominate, be nominated for, or provide supporting statements for this award. Self-nomination, with a supporting statement from another RSTMH Fellow or member is permitted. Nominations must demonstrate a significant contribution in leadership and service, including mentorship and capacity building.

The Emerging Leaders Award is usually awarded annually. However, we were not able to give out the award in 2019, due to a lack of suitable candidates. Nominations for this year closed on 17 July 2020. 

History of Emerging Leaders Award

The award was established in 2016 to recognise significant contributions in leadership and service, including mentoring and other forms of capacity-building, to the fields of tropical medicine and global health.

The award will comprise:

  • A £5,000 personal cash prize
  • A certificate
  • Access to mentorship through the RSTMH Board of Trustees and wider network
  • A platform to give a keynote speech at an RSTMH scientific meeting.