Hemingway Award

Nominations are open! Deadline 30 April

Nominate now

The Hemingway Award – a joint award between RSTMH and the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM) – recognises Professor Janet Hemingway’s achievements in delivering and encouraging translational science during her leadership of LSTM.

The Award is open to people at all stages of their career. 

Eligibility and nominations

Nominations are open! Deadline 30 April 

Nominate now

  • Nominations are every two years
  • Nominees can be researchers, scientists and professionals from anywhere in the world, with no restriction on age, or sector
  • Nominees can be at any stage of their career
  • Nominations are invited from RSTMH members and Fellows and/or students, alumni or staff members of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Nominations must demonstrate success of: 
    • carrying out translational research,
    • translating pure research undertaken by someone else or
    • securing funding for translational studies or programmes.

Become a member

History and prize

Professor Janet Hemingway. Photo: Yasmin Balai

The Hemingway Award was launched in October 2018 to coincide with celebrations of Professor Janet Hemingway’s outstanding career and achievements, as she stepped down as the Director of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM).

The Award recognises Professor Janet Hemingway’s achievements in delivering and encouraging translational science during her leadership of LSTM. Professor Hemingway is Professor of Vector Biology at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, having been Director between 2001 and 2018.

While serving as LSTM’s Director, Professor Hemingway was the first CEO of the Bill and Melinda Gates funded Innovative Vector Control Consortium (IVCC), which she initiated.

She has dedicated her professional life to alleviating human suffering through the study of insect-transmitted diseases, most notably malaria.

The winner of the Hemingway Award will receive a cash prize of £5,000.

2019 Hemingway Award recipient: Dr Caroline Harper

The first recipient of the Hemingway Award in 2019 was Dr Caroline Harper.

Dr Caroline Harper has been Chief Executive of Sightsavers since 2005 and receives the Award for her work transforming the funding landscape for trachoma.

She started her career in the gas business, having worked for British Gas. She then set up her own company focusing on the turnaround and sale of energy companies.

“It is certainly wonderful to see how we now have a range of donors interested in driving trachoma through to elimination, and seeing the programmes scale up in country has been incredible.

“Obviously, I only played one part in this. There are so many people within Sightsavers and other organisations (including WHO) who have played indispensable roles. I must of course thank the donors, both those who have been contributing for many years and those who have come in more recently, without whom trachoma would still be rampant, causing untold suffering, particularly across Africa.”

Dr Caroline Harper

Travel and her family’s experiences of blindness led her to a career change to international development and eventually Sightsavers. In 2015 she received a CBE for services to people with visual impairments.

Under her leadership, Sightsavers has expanded significantly.

She has been instrumental in developing the partnerships that funded the Global Trachoma Mapping Project, and she has subsequently secured more than £150 million to end the risk of trachoma blindness in Africa.