2019 Small Grants awardees

We're pleased to announce our 2019 small grants awardees.

Our small grants of up to £5,000 are to enable early career researchers and global health professionals in the field of tropical medicine or global health to undertake clinical or scientific research or fieldwork, as stand-alone projects or distinct elements within a larger project.

RSTMH has partnered with ITI to support trachoma research as part of our small grants programme. ITI are funding four selected small grants of up to £5,000.

The ITI-funded awardees are:  

  • Shannon Das on point-of-care diagnostics for trachoma 
  • Harry Pickering on chlamydia trachomatis antibodies 
  • Ruth Wandia Maina on MDA for trachoma and soil-transmitted helminths 
  • Ailie Robinson on exploiting fly feeding behaviours 

Dr Paul Emerson, ITI Director said: "These grants will generate new knowledge of direct relevance to trachoma elimination and can also help launch the careers of the next generation of NTD warriors. The first opportunity is often the most important for junior researchers and we look forward to continuing this partnership."

The RSTMH-funded awardees so far are:

  • Temitope Obadare, drug-resistant infections in Nigeria, Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospitals, Nigeria
  • Matthew Fentress, tuberculosis in Peru, Contra Costa Regional Medical Center, California and San Francisco Department of Public Health
  • Ayman Ahmed Mohamed Elamin Ahmed, chikungunya in Sudan, Institute of Endemic Diseases, University of Khartoum, Sudan
  • Arlette Olaby, antimicrobial resistance of Salmonella in Cote d'Ivoire, Centre Suisse de Recherches Scientifiques en Côte d'Ivoire
  • Edessa Negera Gobena, leprosy in Ethiopia, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Naomi Clarke, helminth infections in Vietnam, University of New South Wales
  • Patrick Djomo, tuberculosis in Cameroon, Centre for Research on Filariasis and Other Tropical Diseases in Cameroon
  • Charlotte Fuller, cardiac function in Malawian children with febrile coma, Liverpool/Wellcome Trust 
  • Ajit Kumar Karna, yellow fever, Brazil Instituto Ciências Biomédicas at Universidade de São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil 
  • James Miser Akoko, porcine cysticercosis, Kenya International Livestock Research Institute
  • Joshua Kamani, leptospires in bats, Nigeria National Veterinary Research Institute
  • Zacchaeus Anywaine, Rift Valley fever virus, Uganda Medical Research Council/Uganda Virus Research Institute and London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine Uganda Research Unit 
  • Vanessa Rosine Nkouayep, ascaris, University of Dschang, Cameroon
  • Karthik Gunasekaran, tuberculosis, Christian Medical College, Vellore, India
  • Waweru Harrison Kihuga, malaria, Mount Kenya University, Thika

Click here to see the list of NIHR awardees

We will be opening our 2020 small grants programme on the 4 February